If you give a sea urchin a high five…

8 02 2016
This was by far my favorite thing we saw snorkeling (even including the rainbow fish). It is a bright-blue clam that will open and close if you push water towards it. They grow in the rock crevises at the bottom of the ocean.

This was by far my favorite thing we saw snorkeling (even including the rainbow fish). It is a bright-blue clam that will open and close if you push water towards it. They grow in the rock crevices at the bottom of the ocean.

During low tide, we were able to walk out onto the beach and look at the coral, clams, and sea cucumbers, and we did a fair amount of snorkeling in addition to our walks. The beauty that surrounded us was overwhelming.

There were lots of incredible plants and animals we could see up close because of the low tide.

There were lots of incredible plants and animals we could see up close because of the low tide.

I went with two friends out to a place called “Shark Island” on our last day in Koh Phi Phi. At low tide, you could often see small sharks.

It so happens that low tide also brings you closer to the other animals that don’t appreciate being stepped on. As we approached Shark Island, I got too close to the rock and stood up, lost my balance, and slapped a nearby sea urchin silly. Unfortunately for me, sea urchin spines are like needles, and I ended up spending the rest of the night trying to pull out 13+ brittle spines from my hand.

Sea urchins don't particularly like being hit or stepped on. I would advise against it, as it's a rather painful process.

Sea urchins don’t particularly like being hit or stepped on. I would advise against it, as it’s a rather painful process.

I was only able to pull two of the spikes from my hand.

I was only able to pull two of the spikes from my hand.

The sea urchin spikes are made of calcium and are supposed to dissolve after a while. (Two months later, the ones in my fingers are still there, but the ones in my palm dissolved)

The sea urchin spikes are made of calcium and are supposed to dissolve after a while. (Two months later, the ones in my fingers are still there, but the ones in my palm did dissolve)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

