“We Should Just Have Ally Pay!”

7 01 2016
My friend and I in an Uber car, on our way to sign a ton of papers and open my online banking.

My friend and I in an Uber car, on our way to sign a ton of papers and open my online banking.

AliPay is a third-party payment option used frequently on phones in China. It is similar to Paypal in America, but general, it is much more effective since most people have it, and you can transfer money to other people as well as businesses (and flights).

After almost losing our spring festival airline tickets due to my American bank, I decided to ask a Chinese friend to come to the bank with me and set up my Chinese online banking–and an AliPay account. It was also my first time using Uber (a taxi service).

With my newly opened account, I bought our final tickets that night and was thankful for how many options I have here in China, as well as all the people willing to help me.

Also, one of the first weeks we here and eating together in China, Brian commented that we should just have AliPay (to pay for our food), but Ally didn’t know what AliPay was at the time. She was indignant about this prospect and said, “Why me?!”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

