Gao Kao

5 11 2015
A picture of my class taking a quiz.

A picture of my business class taking a quiz. The student in the front right was trying to cheat, which is why I moved him to the front…

I gave my students a short quiz so they could see how they were doing in my class. They always take pictures of me while I’m teaching, so I decided to take one of them.

Although this may not be the most exciting picture ever, here are a few interesting facts about test-taking in China:

1.) Before college, the only thing that matters is a test called the “Gao Kao.” This test determines which schools you can get into.

2.) Once you get into college, the only thing that matters is passing your final exams.

3.) If you give a quiz to your students, everyone will attend class that day, including students who you didn’t know were your students.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

