When I Think of America…

14 09 2015

SchoolClassroom

Our first classes were today, and this is one of the classrooms that I am teaching in. I had seniors for “Business and Intercultural Communication.” I showed them pictures of Minnesota and Iowa, and they gasped at the pictures of snow.

StudentsChalkBoard

We also had an activity for me to see how the class viewed America. These are a few of their thoughts; one of my favorites being “KFC. Coca-Cola. Christmas. Halloween.”

We also removed the cats (Mr. Feeny & Baby Kitty) from Zion. They were less than thrilled, particularly when we forced them into cages, brought them through the rain, stuck them into the trunk of a taxi–the driver didn’t want them in the cab–and drove seven miles across ShaoXing.

I have a video of Baby Kitty was hating life even more than usual, but unfortunately, I can’t post videos here (or figure out how to yet).

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 09 2015
mama trudy

I gasp at pictures of snow in September too!

24 09 2015
Brandon

My favorite is “American[s] like travelling around the world”, because I feel the same way about Chinese people. There seem to be Chinese tourists all over the US.

Leave a Reply

