End of the Earth.

20 10 2012

Left: “I am with you always” in the sand.
Middle Top: Heading back to the bus stop from the beach.
Right Top: The graveyard outside a church. As promised, Mrs. Thornburgh.
Right Middle: Worm’s Head from one of the highest points on the hillside.
Right Bottom: Me on the beach in front of Worm’s Head.

I headed to the Gower once again today, deciding to climb the hills (Right Middle: You can see the hills on the left) and walk on the beach instead of going out to Worm’s Head like last time. Between a packed lunch at the top, taking jumping pictures with a self-timer, accidentally sliding down a very muddy part of the hillside, getting the tiniest and most “milk-y” milkshake I’ve ever had, and writing in the sand, it turned into a six-hour excursion. The Gower Peninsula always makes me feel like I’m at the end of the earth because it just drops off into endless sea.

If you’re curious, I climbed the hills and went all the way out to the town that is directly behind my head in the September 7 picture. It was such a good experience, but I was so tired at the end of the day that I wasn’t paying attention and stepped into some foul-smelling mud (who knows if it was just mud . . .) and fell asleep on the bus and missed my stop. Haha.

“And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” ~Matthew 28:20b

Actions

Information

8 responses

23 10 2012
Birdie

I am so jealous of your travels Jess! I love your photos! Go girl!

23 10 2012
jlavision

Haha, thanks Birdie! I’m glad you like them. 🙂

23 10 2012
Sarah

I think these are some of your best pictures to date. : ) Well worth the sore quads, eh?

23 10 2012
jlavision

Yes, worth every moment. 🙂

23 10 2012
Ellen Laird

Really figuring out how to work that camera aren’t you? [because these pictures ROCK!]

23 10 2012
jlavision

Haha, thanks Ellen! I am really, really thankful for having it here!!!

29 10 2012
Faith Thornburgh

Love the photo of the cemetary. Any idea how old some of the headstones were?

30 10 2012
jlavision

I’m glad you like them. I looked at the dates, and there were some dating back to the early 1800s. But none much older, I don’t think.

Leave a Reply

