Wet and Windy.

17 10 2012

Some intense winds meant some intense sailing today.

I always thought that people in Minnesota were crazy to go out in minimal clothing in the winter, but I’m starting to debate if the Welsh are more crazy or not. It may be 15ºC (55ºF) outside, but anytime you have to wear a wetsuit to avoid hypothermia in the water, I think that you should reconsider going out. Anyway, this is apparently the Swansea summer, so they do it anyway. I generally have a rule of not being in water if I can’t wear a swimming suit, yet here I am.

Today, we headed to Port Talbot to find that the wind was so strong it was threatening to rip the sails. My fellow “mate” and I dragged the boat out into the water and had not gotten far enough out to put the daggerboard in (keeps your boat upright, but you can only put it in when the water is deep enough) when we tipped over. Um. Okay. We righted it, and were off again, but were unable to do much, as the main sheet and jib sheet (the ropes that keep the two sails up) had gotten tangled when we tipped the first time. This sent us heading helplessly for a concrete wall, and we tipped again. Someone came over to rescue us in our desperate situation, and we made it safely back to land. After that, I ended up going out with someone else who managed to keep us upright for the whole time. I suffered a few bruises and may have caught the boom on my forehead, but the second time round was much more successful than the first!

Hopefully you like stories, ’cause that was a long post. Whew.

“The disciples went and woke [Jesus], saying, ‘Master, Master, we’re going to drown!’ He got up and rebuked the wind and the raging waters; the storm subsided, and all was calm.” ~Luke 8:24

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 10 2012
mom

Beautiful picture, Jess. Glad you are okay 🙂

19 10 2012
jlavision

Thanks. Of course I’m okay. 😛

Leave a Reply

