Poor Albert.

10 10 2012

I went sailing in Port Albert with the Sailing Society.

Port Talbot is home to a lake where the Sailing Society houses their sailboats. Today, I grabbed my rented wetsuit and jumped on the bus to check out this pretty place. It was fairly cold (hence the wetsuit), but only my feet and “bum” got a little wet from hiking (this is leaning backward out of the boat to keep it flat, which is kind of hard to explain unless you’ve done it before), which made the cold bearable. I bought some really cheap wetsuit boots so my feet will survive the weather here (but they got refunded because they were out of my size). It was interesting sailing with two sails, but I was very thankful for the boats we had at camp that taught me the basics.

Also, the first time someone from Wales said “Port Talbot” to me, I thought she was saying “Poor Albert.” So if you want to sound Welsh, there you go . . .

One of my favorite stories about Paul “Giving Thanks in All Circumstances”: “‘[Paul speaking to the men on board] God has graciously given you the lives of all who sail with you.’ So keep up your courage, men, for I have faith in God that it will happen just as he told me . . . Not one of you will lose a single hair from his head.’  After he said this, he took some bread and gave thanks to God in front of them all.” ~Acts 27:24-25, 34

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

